Tuesday, March 24, 2009

The Five Love Languages: Review

The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman

Amazon.com ReviewUnhappiness in marriage often has a simple root cause: we speak different love languages, believes Dr. Gary Chapman. While working as a marriage counselor for more than 30 years, he identified five love languages: Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service, and Physical Touch. In a friendly, often humorous style, he unpacks each one. Some husbands or wives may crave focused attention; another needs regular praise. Gifts are highly important to one spouse, while another sees fixing a leaky faucet, ironing a shirt, or cooking a meal as filling their "love tank." Some partners might find physical touch makes them feel valued: holding hands, giving back rubs, and sexual contact. Chapman illustrates each love language with real-life examples from his counseling practice.
How do you discover your spouse’s – and your own – love language? Chapman’s short questionnaires are one of several ways to find out. Throughout the book, he also includes application questions that can be answered more extensively in the beautifully detailed companion leather journal (
an exclusive Amazon.com set). Each section of the journal corresponds with a chapter from the book, offering opportunities for deeper reflection on your marriage.

Although some readers may find choosing to love a spouse that they no longer even like –hoping the feelings of affection will follow later– a difficult concept to swallow, Chapman promises that the results will be worth the effort. "Love is a choice," says Chapman. "And either partner can start the process today." --Cindy Crosby.

Product Description

Are you and your spouse speaking the same language? While love is a many splendored thing, it is sometimes a very confusing thing, too. And as people come in all varieties, shapes, and sizes, so do their choices of personal expressions of love. But more often than not, the giver and the receiver express love in two different ways. This can lead to misunderstanding, quarrels, and even divorce. Quality Time Words of Affirmation Gifts Acts of Service Physical TouchDr. Gary Chapman identifies five basic languages of love and then guides couples towards a better understanding of their unique languages of love. Learn to speak and understand your mate's love language, and in no time you will be able to effectively love and truly feel loved in return. Skillful communication is within your grasp!

I have learned so much from this book, as well as King Baboon ( my hubby). We knew we loved each other, faced a hard moment in our relationship, and the end was looming in our faces. We are fighting those demons, because we love each other and our determined to make our marriage work. Although we both know we loved each other, we were giving each other the wrong kind of love. He was giving me the love he knew, the love he wanted, and I was doing the same. Now that I know what fills his love tank, and he knows what fills mine, we are back to what's really important... each other!

I give this book 5 stars out of a possible 5 stars! Pick this book up, even if you are in what you and your spouse believe to be a solid relationship, our relationships are always in a need of a tune up.

This book falls into these challenges:

After reading the copy from the library I ran out and bought it, and that says a lot because I have trained myself not to buy many books from the bookstore, we would go broke if I did!

Until next time...
Happy Reading!

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

During my decade long self-help craze, I read this book. Loved it too!